Your best practice for dependancy problems-Amavisd

Best practice information from Scalix users relating to integration of Scalix with other products.

Moderator: ScalixSupport

konman

Your best practice for dependancy problems-Amavisd

Postby konman » Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:10 pm

Guys/Gals.

I need a few key words and pointers on the best (easiest?) way to fix dependancy problems - I am new to Linux but learning as quickly as I can.

Im using 32Bit CentOS5, Latest scalix, Intel quad core Q6600, P35 Mobo, 2 Gig RAM.etc
CentOS 5*** and Scalix installed like a charm. I can log into SAC etc.

Reading throght the HowTos/Amavisd Wiki it said to have amavisd-new, spamassassin, clamd etc installed before you go further.

So I started with amavisd-new-2.5.2-1.el5.rf.i386.rpm from apt.sw.be

The first few dependancy problems were -:

Missing Dependency: unrar >= 2.71 is needed by package amavisd-new
-->> I fixed by installing unrar-3.7.4-1.el5.rf.i386.rpm

Missing Dependency: ripole is needed by package amavisd-new
-->> I fixed by installing ripole-0.2.0-1.2.el5.rf.i386.rpm

Missing Dependency: zoo >= 2.10 is needed by package amavisd-new
-->> If fixed by installing zoo-2.2.10-2.el5.rf.i386.rpm

In total there are about 25 dependancy problems.
Did you have dependancy problems with Amavisd-new?

Im getting to the point where the dependancies themselves have dependancy problems.

Some dependants are getting hard to identify like perl(Net::Server) and perl(MIME::Words), perl(IO::Stringy).

Advice would be most welcome - and when I solve these issues I will gladly contribute to the wiki...

Could these problems be related to the way I installed CentOS5?

Cheers,
Kon.

*** CentOS 5 'out of the box' didnt support the onboard ICH9R Gigabit NIC - I just had to put in an 10/100 Intel for network support - just incase someone googles this..

edit::After much searching/trial and error - installing of rpms from DAG, I have come down to one problem.