Scalix with DR Failover

Discuss installation of Scalix software

Moderators: ScalixSupport, admin

scalixnub

Scalix with DR Failover

Postby scalixnub » Tue May 05, 2009 7:53 pm

I've done a little reading about clustering with scalix but haven't found any good info on running a master slave scalix solution.

ie. I have a master server at one site with its own db and I want an identical server at another site that is effectively my Disaster Recovery mail server with its own db. So the Mailstore and ldap are synced to the remote site over a 10mb link. So if my main site goes down I do a dns update and people connect to the DR server.

Has anyone done this with scalix? Anyone got some docco on it?

In my case a cluster is not an option as I would be relying on the same database being up.
Can you configure ldap replication to the slave and posgresql db replication?

Also has anyone tried a master-master config using this sort of configuration? ie. round-robin dns

LeslieW
Scalix
Scalix

Re: Scalix with DR Failover

Postby LeslieW » Wed May 06, 2009 10:18 am

To my knowledge nobody has done this.

You can set up a slave LDAP server at the remote location.
You don't need to replicate postgres; it's only used as a message header cache and will rebuild itself if necessary.

In your situation I would recommend installing scalix on the remote server, taking care that the uid and gid for the scalix user are the same on both servers. Then rsync /var/opt/scalix from your production server to your standby server each night.

I also wouldn't change DNS; I'd use the same IP on both servers. Otherwise every time you bring the standby server online you'll have to go through the steps outlined in the Wiki article about changing the IP of your server.

There are probably a lot of little surprises waiting for you, so be sure to test things thoroughly.