Scalix appears to listen on port 8080 and no access to SAC

Discuss installation of Scalix software

Moderators: ScalixSupport, admin

pinnks

Scalix appears to listen on port 8080 and no access to SAC

Postby pinnks » Sun Mar 08, 2009 4:55 pm

Sorry, this is a bit long but I hope it gives enough info for someone to help me.

I have been running the Community Edition with OpenSuse for a couple of years and recently upgraded to OpenSuse 11 and Scalix 11.4. This caused a few problems initially but now seems reasonably stable. I count myself still very much a beginner when it comes to Linux and Scalix and tend to rely on the Suse GUI to get from A-to-B, though with good guidance I am getting a little more confident in the command line environment...

I have 5 domains and use Scalix to collect mail for each (each member of the family). I had also been running (on Suse 10.1) virtual hosts to allow each domain to host a website with success so that I had www.domain1.com, www.domain2.com etc and I thought I had recreated that in Suse 11 but am now not sure.

The other day I purchased another domain and popped it into Scalix without problems. I then set-up a basic web page and went into YAST HTTP Server to add the virtual host to allow me to publish that simple web page AND OH BOY THE FUN BEGAN...

Too many hours later with much head banging and head scratching I managed to get to the point where nothing seemed to work - SAC and Webmail gave me Error 404 and Apache2 would not start. The HTTP service in YAST crashed every time as it could not find /srv/www/htdocs/sis and I read somewhere that that is a Scalix issue. Don't ask me quite what I did as it was one of those iterative processes ending in disaster...

I think Scalix was still running with connectivity through Outlook but don't quote me. It is certainly back up and running in that mode now.