Too much or too little contacts on Android!

Forum to discuss the Scalix ActiveSync product

Moderators: ScalixSupport, admin

joako

Too much or too little contacts on Android!

Postby joako » Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:35 pm

I've been evaluating Scalix ActiveSync for a few months and I have noticed massive issues with contacts sync.

1 user with Verizon "HTC Droid Incredible by HTC" has a problem of too many contacts, they keep multiplying currently at 18,000 contacts, started at maybe 300 contacts and they just keep multiplying like rabbits.

Another user I have more direct contact with we have tried many phones, all of them get too little contacts:

* Sony Ericsson Experia X10: too little contacts
* Samsung Galaxy S (AT&T version IIRC): too little contacts
In both of these cases it seems the same contacts never sync to the phone.

Both of these users had Windows Mobile 6.5 without any issues. User #2 we also setup an iPhone 2G and that syncs fine. I use an iPhone 4 and also that works fine.

I don't understand how this is possible if scalix has allegedlley has "official license" for ActiveSync protocol.
<Signature deleted... Florian>

polleke

Re: Too much or too little contacts on Android!

Postby polleke » Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:07 pm

the activesync license has absolutely nothing to do with it.

you state yourself that the iPhone and other devices do sync so activesync works
Kind regards,

Paul

joako

Postby joako » Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:10 pm

It works to a limited extent. Microsoft Exchange server does not have issues with any device. On iPhone there are some bugs not seen in Windows Mobile, but they are not major. I could understand issues if say ActiveSync were reversed enineered, so the fact that Scalix claims that their ActiveSync support is officially licenced is indeed very relevant.

billb3
Scalix Star
Scalix Star

Postby billb3 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:07 pm

polleke wrote:the activesync license has absolutely nothing to do with it.